Impressionism is Okay

Overall, I don’t like the Impressionism style as much as I do other styles. I don’t hate it because it does create some unique effects, especially with how light is shown. It’s more vibrant in its colors and shapes, objects standing out while being blended into the colors of the background. It’s a beautiful style, but I don’t find it as appealing as works with more definition and emotion.

Madame-Monet-and-Her-Son
“Woman with a Parasol – Madame Monet and Her Son” was painted by Claude Monet in 1875. The angle of this piece is lovely, looking up at the figures with the contrast of the shadows against the bright blue sky. The clothing worn by the woman whips about her in the wind, as though she were covered in clouds. The delicate covering of her veil making her seem as though she were another piece of the sky, yet standing out so far from it. I love the sense of depth created, yet it seems to airy, as though the characters are intangible, a blurry photograph almost.

judithslayingholofernes1333036330753
In contrast to the almost sweet and calming effect of the strokes and swirls of the impressionism style is the baroque style. Artemisia Gentileschi’s “Judith Beheading Holofernes” was created between 1614 to 1620. I absolutely love the depth of the stories behind baroque pieces, even if most of them are religious. They just feel so much more bold and passionate, and the figures are continually searching for a more realistic perfection. Perhaps I’m just morbid, but I always love a good murder story. The emotions are raw and often troubled; there is always a conflict to be found, whether in mind, body, spirit or all three. I like the paintbrush strokes and how they blend into the picture, rather than making themselves the main attraction like impressionism. I most like the ones that rely more on shadows, allowing the subjects to emerge from the scene. The detail is incredible, and inspirational, sometimes to a strangely deterring point in light of the religious motivations behind them. But that makes it no less amazing. What people did was create art that was worthy in their minds of adorning a house of god, of being offered as a glimpse into a small piece of the angelic beauty so common in heaven. They were making art worthy of god.
I guess if anything I don’t like the peaceful scenes in impressionism.The lighter colors and swaying objects are not as good as firm movements and decisive placement. The use of brush strokes, making them bold and obvious is both appealing and deterring. I feel as though it makes the painting seem unfinished, but at the same time I love the airy and swirling blending of scene and objects that makes certain points stand out more with just a touch of well-chosen color. The effects of light especially are brilliant, contrasting shadows with sunlight and coloring the twists and turns of each leaf. I really can’t love impressionism paintings, but I can still appreciate their merit and beauty.
Gentileschi, Artemisia. Judith Beheading Holofernes. 1614-20. Oil on canvas. National Museum of Capodimonte, Naples.

“History of Art: Baroque and Rococo.” All-art.org. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 July 2015. <http://www.all-art.org/history252_contents_Baroque_Rococo.html&gt;.
Monet, Claude. Woman with a Parasol – Madame Monet and Her Son. 1875. Oil on canvas. National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.

\<http://www.all-art.org/history252_contents_Baroque_Rococo.html&gt;.
Monet, Claude. Woman with a Parasol – Madame Monet and Her Son. 1875. Oil on canvas. National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.

2 thoughts on “Impressionism is Okay

  1. I would have to agree with you, I don’t really care for Impressionism either. Its just something about those light brush strokes that I do not like, I prefer solid lines. The painting “Judith Beheading Holofernes” is very graphic and the lighting focuses your attention on the head of Holofernes. The women almost blend with the dark background, making them seem all the more evil. I found it interesting that you would compare Impressionism with Baroque art, they are almost polar opposites. When I wrote the comparison I compared it to realism. The highlight about the detail of the two different styles was something I did not notice before, Baroque being super detailed while Impressionism almost neglects all of the small details. Below is a link to a biography of Artemisia, if you would like to know about her.

    http://www.biography.com/people/artemisia-gentileschi-9308725

    Like

  2. Great description of what you like about the baroque style. I found your analysis of the cons of impressionism to also be in line with my views. The piece you chose from the baroque era is really an incredible piece. The detail and difference in each of the faces is astounding. The girl’s determination is really highlighted by the shadows that illustrate the sharp lines of concentration on her forehead. Artemisia Gentileschi did an amazing job at creating such a gruesome scene. I found a painting depicting the same event by Caravaggio in 1599 almost more gruesome, also demonstrating create use of contrasting different parts of the scene with shadows. The link can be found at http://www.caravaggio.org/judith-beheading-holofernes.jsp#prettyPhoto

    Like

Leave a comment